

BOARD MEETING MINUTES April 10, 2018

ESPC OFFICE, SUITE 37, 9912-106 STREET, EDMONTON

AttendeesGwen Feeny, Board President, Finance Cttee.Dave Trautman, Board Director, Policy Cttee. (Chair)Candas Jane Dorsey, Board Director, Policy Cttee.Ben Whynot, Board Director, Fund Deve. (Lead),Membership/Board Dev. Cttee.Doug Meggison, Board Director, Finance Cttee. (Chair),Membership & Board Dev.Cttee.Peter Schalk, Board Director, Membership/Board. Dev Cttee.Calypse Agborsangaya, Board Director, Policy Cttee.

Susan Morrissey, Executive Director Stephanie Haar, Recording Secretary

Regrets: Maxwell Harrison, Board Director, Finance Cttee., Membership/Board Dev. Cttee.

Guests: Carla Walker, Peterson Walker LLP

1) <u>Welcome/Introduction</u> – Meeting called to order by Gwen Feeny at 6:05 pm

2) Consent agenda – approval of agenda and minutes:

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Candas Jane Dorsey, seconded by Calypse Agborsangaya to accept agenda with additions and approval of the March 13/2018 board minutes with revisions. <u>MOTION</u>: CARRIED

3) 2017 Audited Financials:

Reviewed audited 2017 Financial Statements with Carla Walker from Peterson Walker LLP and answered questions.

<u>MOTION:</u> Moved by Peter Schalk, seconded by Gwen Feeny, to approve the audited 2017 Financial Statements with revisions. <u>MOTION:</u> CARRIED

4) **Business Arising:**

- a) <u>Restricted Fund Discretional Spending limits policy:</u>
 - <u>ACTION</u>: Dave Trautman working on draft and will circulate to board members for discussion at the May 8th board meeting.
 - <u>Question</u>: It was determined that this policy does not require membership approval. It was agreed to discuss approval of policy at the June 2018 Board Meeting.

b) AGM Planning:

- Location: Edmonton Food Bank Annex, 11434 120th Street, Edmonton
- Award of Merit:
 - o Have received 2 nominations. Paula Kirman and Jasper Place Wellness Center

MOTION: Moved by Doug Meggison, seconded by Canda Jane Dorsey, to award the 2018 ESPC Award of Merit to both an individual (Paula Kirman) an organization (Jasper Place Health & Wellness Center) this year. **MOTION: CARRIED**

<u>ACTION:</u> Stephanie Haar to get trophy engraved and prepare certificates. Also draft letters of recognition to the recipients for Dave Trautman's signature.

- Annual Report:
 - Committee reports (President's report, Treasurer report, Policy (Chair), Membership/Board Development (Chair) and Fund Development) are required.
 - Susan Morrissey agreed to assist Doug Meggison with preparing the Treasurer's report.
 - <u>ACTION:</u> Committee chair's to forward there reports to Susan Morrissey no later then April 27, 2018.
- c) <u>ED Evaluation Board Recommended Support to ED:</u>

Policy presented and discussion regarding how the Board can support the Executive Director.

<u>MOTION:</u> Moved by Dave Trautman, seconded by Calypse Agborsangaya, to go "In-Camera" at 7:09 pm. came "Out-of-Camera" at 7:55 pm <u>MOTION: CARRIED</u>

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Gwen Feeny, seconded by Dave Trautman, to discuss board support to Executive Director – further in-camera – to take place at next meeting. <u>MOTION</u>: CARRIED

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Dave Trautman, seconded by Candas Jane Dorsey, to accept the ED Evaluation process for information purposes as amended. <u>MOTION</u>: 6 approved, 1 opposed (Ben Whynot)

5) **Executive Director's Ops Report:**

Susan Morrissey reported on activities from March 2018 and answered questions and provided additional information.

- The MacEwan Communications Practicum student position has been posted. It will be for 160 hrs. and will be paid an honourarium at the discretion of the Executive Director.
- United Way approved new ESPC 3 year grant at its current.

6) Committee Reports:

- a) <u>Membership & Board Development Committee:</u>
 - The Committee has received a number of nominations to fill the empty spaces on the Board.
 - Maxwell Harrison has resigned his position on the Board as of the AGM on May 24, 2018.

MOTION: Moved by Ben Whynot, seconded by Peter Schalk, to recommend that the Board of Director nominate Kathie Gavin, Theresa Vladicka, Vanessa Zembal, Sahro Hassan and Melissa Scott at the 2018 Annual General Meeting for appointment to the Board for a two-year term beginning in 2018-19.

<u>MOTION:</u> CARRIED

b) Fund Development Audit Update:

- Draft report presented for review prior to the scheduled April 21 2018 meeting. <u>ACTION:</u> Please email of call Ben Whynot with suggested revision before the meeting.
- <u>ACTION</u>: Ben Whynot to email updated report before April 21, 2018 meeting.

7) **Business Arising:**

- a) Announcements:
 - Susan Morrissey advised that she will not be attending the May 8th, 208 Board meeting.
 - FYI: Stephanie Haar will be using the already existing License Plate numbers each month to register for after hours parking.

Meeting Adjourned: 8:32 pm

Next Meetings: May 8th, 2018

May 8th, 2018 June 12th, 2018